Home > Kyudo Shinsa Regulations

Kyudo Shinsa Regulations

Kyudo Shinsa Regulations



Chapter 1Shogo Title

Awarding Shogo Title

Article 2
Shogo Title is conferred upon candidates under evaluation who display proficiency resulting from intensive study and training as well as having shown remarkable achievements in Kyudo. Upon approval, the candidate will be officially recognized for this honor.

Levels of Shogo Title

Article 3
Shogo Title has 3 levels: Hanshi, Kyoshi, and Renshi.

Qualifications for Shogo Title

Article 4
Those eligible for Shogo Title must possess the following criteria:


  • Exemplify the highest degree of conduct, dignity, and perfection of ability, together with the highest quality of discernment.
  • Holder of Kyoshi title.


  • Possession of character, technical ability, and judgement are essential, as well as scholarship and cultivation, which are necessary requirements for leadership in Kyudo. Moreover, the candidate's eligibility should be proven by meritorious service.
  • Holder of Renshi title.


  • Firm in character and have the ability to instruct in Kyudo. Moreover, there should be evidence of advancement above the previous levels.
  • Hold the rank of Godan.

Chapter 2Dan and Kyu Rank

Approval of Dan and Kyu Rank

Article 6
Dan and Kyu Ranks are approved during Shinsa Examinations where candidates are evaluated based on their level of proficiency. Promotions are given as a mean of encouragement to continue further advancement.

Levels of Dan and Kyu Rank

Article 6
Kyu Rank has 5 levels: Gokyu (5th Kyu) to Ikkyu (1st Kyu). Dan Rank has 10 levels: Shodan (1st Dan) to Judan (10th Dan).

Qualification for Dan and Kyu Rank

Article 7
The criteria for receiving Dan or Kyu Ranks are as follows:
  • Yonkyu (4th Kyu)
    Receive systematic training and demonstrate progress in their handling of the yumi and ya.
  • Sankyu (3rd Kyu)
    Understand the fundamental movements of shooting, have at least a slight understanding of how to use the yumi and ya, and demonstrate that they have received systematic instruction.
  • Nikyu (2nd Kyu)
    Compared to Sankyu, there should be noticeable progress in the degree of training received.
  • Ikkyu (1st Kyu)
    Shooting form and way of carrying out the shooting should be done correctly.
  • Shodan (1st Dan)
    Shape of the shooting form and formal movement should be suitable for the level of shooting. There should not be disarray in the placing of the arrows.
  • Nidan (2nd Dan)
    Both the shooting form and formal movement should have good arrangement with evidence of spiritual energy in the technique. There should be less uncertainly in the placing of the arrows.
  • Sandan (3rd Dan)
    Shooting form is better established and the formal movement is more stable. The breathing is ordered and the method of using shooting technique is correctly obeyed. The arrow should fly straight, and there should be more consistency in hitting the target.
  • Yondan (4th Dan)
    In addition to having the elements of the previous level, there should be correct breathing and the release should be sharp. Consistency should be reached in hitting the target.
  • Godan (5th Dan)
    The shooting form, the shooting technique, and the method of formal movement should be suitable for the level, with evidence of refinement in the shooting. In particular, progress should be shown over the previous levels.
  • Rokudan (6th Dan)
    Excellence of technique should be far more prominent than in previous levels.
  • Nanadan (7th Dan)
    Shooting form, shooting technique, and formal movement are evident naturally in the body. The shooting has reached a high level of refinement and mastery.
  • Hachidan (8th Dan)
    There should be perfection in the technique, the highest level of refinement and embodiment of skill in the art of shooting.
  • Kyudan (9th Dan)
    The Truth of Kyudo should be transparent.
  • Judan (10th Dan)